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Paid Parental Leave

Overview
What is Paid Parental Leave?
Paid Parental Leave is a new paid leave program being piloted per the State Personnel System
(SPS) Rule R2-5A-103.B.2. This program is available to eligible employees who are becoming
parents via having a newborn child, having a new foster, or adopted child placed in the
household on or after January 1, 2023.  Employees should be advised that the Department may
modify, alter, revoke, suspend, terminate, or change any of the provisions of this Pilot Program,
in whole or in part, and may do so at any time. This program is subject to the availability of
funding.

Paid Parental Leave is a new additional paid leave category that is available to eligible state
employees who have worked for a state agency for a total of 12 months during the past 7 years,
who have worked a minimum of 1250 hours during the past year from the date of the qualifying
event or the time the leave begins, and who are becoming parents via having a newborn child or
having a new foster or adopted child placed in the household.  (Some exceptions apply until
09/01/24.)

Employees may use up to 12 weeks of this paid leave within the 12-month period from the date
of birth or placement of the new child in the household.  Eligible part-time employees receive a
prorated benefit.  An employee must have a current and ongoing parental role in connection
with the birth or placement of a son or daughter for foster care or adoption. If an employee is
eligible for Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Leave, Paid Parental Leave shall run concurrently
with FMLA Leave.  

Eligible Employees Entitlement
Twelve (12) workweeks of leave in a 12-month period for:

● The birth of a child and to care for the newborn child within one year of birth
● The placement with the employee of a new child for adoption or foster care and to care

for the newly placed child within one year of placement.

FMLA - Paid Parental Leave Eligibility

Paid Parental Leave is a new paid leave program being piloted per the State Personnel System
(SPS) Rule R2-5A-103.B.2. This program is available to eligible employees who are
becoming parents via having a newborn child or having a new foster or adopted child
placed in the household on or after January 1, 2023. Employees should be advised that the
Department may modify, alter, revoke, suspend, terminate, or change any of the provisions of
this Pilot Program, in whole or in part, and may do so at any time. This program is subject to the
availability of funding.

An eligible employee for the purposes of Paid Parental Leave is an employee who is:

On or after January 1, 2023, and upon the birth or new placement of a child, is an
employee of the state of Arizona, and at the commencement of taking paid Parental
Leave:

● Has been employed by the state of Arizona for at least 12 months during the past 7
years; and
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● Has worked a minimum of 1250 hours during the past year (paid leave does not count
towards this requirement, only hours worked)
An agency head shall not extend paid leave under this Pilot Program to an ineligible
employee.

**NEW Policy UPDATE as of October 18, 2023

A temporary exception has been made to the eligibility requirements for the first year of
the plan. This exception will allow an employee who would meet the eligibility
requirements sometime within the 12 months following the date of birth or placement of 
the child (that occurred on or after January 1, 2023), to utilize the PPL immediately. This 
means employees who will become eligible in the near future will not have to wait to 
utilize PPL. This exception expires September 1, 2024. The updated policy can be found 
here for reference.

Paid Parental Leave should run concurrently with FMLA if the employee is eligible.

However it can also be used if the employee is not FMLA eligible at the time of

applying for the PPL leave. It is important to set these up correctly as discussed below.

How to determine when an employee is eligible for FMLA
1. Login to HRIS

2. Open the LP60 screen (Employee Service Inquiry)

3. Enter “1” in Company field

4. Enter employee’s “EIN” in the Employee field

5. Select ELG for the Service Class field

6. Leave Service Code blank

7. Enter the previous 12 month date range in the Date Range field (example: if the FMLA
beginning leave date is 8/1/2012 then the date range would be 8/1/2011 to 8/1/2012)

8. Click Inquire

9. Click Totals

10. Total hours worked are listed in the “Total Service Hours” row in the LP60.3 (Employee
Service Totals)

After you determine that an employee is eligible for FMLA, and the record has been entered into
the system, HRIS will automatically grant the employee the initial FMLA balance and then each
pay period the system will determine the amount of hours he or she is eligible for based on the
12-month rolling calendar. Note: ELG hours in HRIS do not capture Comp Time. This time refers
to hours worked and would count towards Eligibility. If hours are not met, HR should check
(CTE) comp time.
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1. Processing for FMLA Eligible

How to establish an FMLA case and allot hours to the Paid Parental Leave
Plan

Employees with existing open FMLA plan
Set up an FMLA case for FMLA-BIRTH. When the employee has FMLA leave time available
and takes FMLA leave concurrent with the PPL,(time records with a 341F pay code), both the
FMLA balance and Paid Parental Leave balance will be decremented. Other FMLA pay codes
will adjust balances as they normally do (e.g. - 300F will decrement the employee’s annual
leave balance along with the FMLA balance).

This is a two-step process that involves setting up the FMLA case on the XT51.1 form and also
setting up the Paid Parental Leave plan on the LP70 form. Both steps must be completed to
ensure the employee’s leave plan balances are updated.

Since the State of Arizona uses a “rolling calendar” for FMLA, the employee could be granted
back hours in each pay period that were used in the previous year with a previous FMLA case.
As these hours are granted by the HRIS system, you must use pay code 341F first for the FMLA
usage. Once FMLA leave hours are no longer available, then continue with the Paid Parental
Leave hours (pay code 341). As the leave progresses, you may have to monitor and switch
between pay codes each pay period. Also an employee can have more than one open FMLA
case.

Step 1: Create the FMLA plan using the XT51.1

1.Enter Company = 1, and EIN for the approved Employee.
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2. Leave Number should be left blank. HRIS will assign the case number.

3. Enter the Request Date, Eligibility Start, and Eligibility End dates.

4. Reason for Leave MUST be FMLA-BIRTH to receive Paid Parental Leave.

5. Reason Class is blank if not using Intermittent Leave.

6. Leave Status = APPROVED or PENDING.

7. Click Add. Allow to process overnight. The employee should have hours in their FMLA leave
plan the next day unless their hours are exhausted. Hours can be verified on the LP31 screen.

Step 2: Create the Paid Parental Leave Allotment using the LP70.1 form

1. Company = 1.
2. Employee - EIN for Employee Approved for Parental Leave.
3. Enter FC field = A (Add)
4. Enter Plan = PARENTAL
5. Enter Struct Grp = LPPARENTAL
6. Amount = 480.00
7. Transaction Type = 3 (Adj Available)
8. Position = blank
9. Trans Date = Date of Leave Approval
10. Amount Type = 1 (Hours)
11. Description(bottom of LP70.1 form) = APPVD FOR XXX HRS PPL

12. Click Add. Allow to process overnight. Employees should have 480 hours showing for
Parental Leave on the LP31 form the next day.

13. The next day. go to LP31.1. An Accrual End date can be entered on this form on the
Dates tab. Use this to set the date the Paid Parental Leave should end.
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Also Review the Balances tab to verify the correct hours were processed the preceding
night.

For more information on LP70 processing, please consult the Manual Transaction
Resource Guide
https://hr.az.gov/sites/default/files/2022-06/AGYABSENCEMGT_Manual%2520Tran
sactions_0.pdf

Pay Code Use for FMLA Eligible / Paid Parental Leave

If the employee is FMLA eligible and has a balance of FMLA hours available, it is
important that hours taken be reported by using pay code 341F first. This ensures both
the FMLA and Paid Parental Leave balances are decreased.

Once the FMLA portion of hours have been exhausted, pay code 341 should be used for
any remaining Paid Parental Leave balance. This could occur if the employee had used
FMLA for reasons other than the birth of a child, or if PPL was approved under the policy
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exception (effective through September 1, 2024), prior to FMLA eligibility.

Holiday Leave

There have been questions about what pay code to use with Holiday Leave and Paid
Parental Leave. When on Paid Parental Leave you would use pay code 341F or 341 as
described above for the day before and after the paid Holiday. The Holiday itself would
use paycode 320F for FMLA hours or paycode 320 for Paid Parental Leave.

2. Processing for Non-Eligible FMLA

Note: At this time, the agency must monitor their Paid Parental Leave
dates manually if the employee is not eligible for FMLA. They would not be
able to use pay code 341F until the employee is FMLA eligible and an FMLA
case is set up.

Create the Paid Parental Leave Allotment using the LP70.1 form

14. Company = 1.
15. Employee - EIN for Employee Approved for Parental Leave.
16. Enter FC field = A (Add)
17. Enter Plan = PARENTAL
18. Enter Struct Grp = LPPARENTAL
19. Amount = 480.00
20. Transaction Type = 3 (Adj Available)
21. Position = blank
22. Trans Date = Date of Leave Approval
23. Amount Type = 1 (Hours)
24. Description(bottom of LP70.1 form) = APPVD FOR XXX HRS PPL
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25. Click Add. Allow to process overnight. Employees should have 480 hours showing for
Parental Leave on the LP31 form the next day.

26. The next day. go to LP31.1. An Accrual End date can be entered on this form on the
Dates tab. Use this to set the date the Paid Parental Leave should end.

Also Review the Balances tab to verify the correct hours were processed the preceding
night.

For more information on LP70 processing, please consult the Manual Transaction
Resource Guide
https://hr.az.gov/sites/default/files/2022-06/AGYABSENCEMGT_Manual%2520Transactions_0.pdf
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Pay Code Use for FMLA Non-Eligible / Paid Parental Leave

Until the employee has FMLA hours available, pay code 341 will be available to use. If the
employee becomes FMLA eligible and FMLA hours are allotted, it is important that all
hours be reported using pay code 341F first. This ensures both the FMLA and Paid
Parental Leave balances are both decreased. Once the FMLA portion of hours have been
exhausted, pay code 341 will be used for any remaining Paid Parental Leave balance. Pay
code 341 cannot be used prior to 9/2/2023.

Holiday Leave
There have been questions about what pay code to use with Holiday Leave and Paid
Parental Leave. When on Paid Parental Leave you must be in pay status for the day
before and after the paid Holiday. The Holiday itself would be coded as 320F or 320.

Reporting
Currently there is a Data Warehouse report showing pay code usage in Agency Payroll
reports.

There is also an FMLA report by agency or process level in the Agency FMLA folder that details
the Eligibility dates, FMLA Reason, Status and Sick, Annual and FMLA balances that would be
very useful to agencies.

Additionally the HRIS report LP264 is available for monitoring.

Additional Documentation:
Family Sick and Paid Parental Leave Pilot Program

Scenarios and Frequently Asked Questions

- Internal Use Only September 03, 2024 Paid Parental Leave
10

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gNGjtmg9bOuIvab4-ERm89InBP6jregM/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gXN3Xsnv0aywWtvv2TROjp1m3AtkqGrO/view

